Title Sponsor

2016/17 SOUTH WEST TOURISM EXCELLENCE AWARDS IN ASSOCIATION WITH SOUTH WEST WATER BUSINESS SERVICES www.swwbusiness.co.uk

WINNERS

Access & Inclusivity Award

Sponsored by Purple Cloud Consultancy  www.purplecloudconsultancy.co.uk

Gold

?     Eden Project, Cornwall, www.edenproject.com
?     Mylor Sailing School, Cornwall, www.mylorsailingschool.co.uk

Silver

?     Kernock Cottages, Cornwall, www.kernockcottages.com
?     Thelma Hulbert Gallery, Devon, www.thelmahulbert.com

Bronze

?     At-Bristol Science Centre, Bristol, www.at-bristol.org.uk
?     Moors Valley Country Park and Forest, Dorset, www.moors-valley.co.uk

Active & Sporting Experience Award

Sponsored by Soundview  www.soundviewmedia.co.uk

Gold

?     GoSkydive, Wiltshire, www.goskydive.com

Silver

?     Newquay Activity Centre, Cornwall, www.newquayactivitycentre.co.uk
?     SUP Bristol, Bristol, www.supbristol.com

Bronze

?     Go Ape Haldon, Devon, www.goape.co.uk/haldon
?     Kernow Adventure Park, Cornwall, www.kernowadventurepark.com
?     Reach Outdoors Ltd, Devon, www.reach-outdoors.com

Artistic, Cultural & Learning Experience

Sponsored by Plymouth University School of Tourism & Hospitality www.plymouth.ac.uk

Gold

?     The Lodge, Bristol Zoo Gardens, Bristol, www.thelodgebristolzoo.org.uk
?     The Old Kennels, Devon, www.theoldkennels.co.uk

Silver

?     Plymouth Gin, Devon, www.plymouthgin.com
?     Rick Stein's Cookery School, Cornwall, www.rickstein.com/school
?     Seaton Tramway, Devon, www.tram.co.uk
?     Virtual Jet Centre, Devon, www.virtualjetcentre.co.uk

Bed & Breakfast of the Year

Sponsored by Lloyds Cardnet  www.lloydsbankcardnet.com

Gold

?     Kaywana Hall, Devon, www.kaywanahall.co.uk
?     The 25 Boutique B & B, Devon, www.the25.uk

Silver

?     Dorset House, Dorset, www.dorsethouselyme.com
?     Roundhouse Barn Holidays, Cornwall, www.roundhousebarnholidays.co.uk

Bronze

?     Higher Gitcombe Boutique Bed and Breakfast, Devon, www.highergitcombe.co.uk
?     Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast, Cornwall, www.wadebridgebedandbreakfast.net

Café & Tearoom of the Year

Sponsored by The Source Trade Show  www.thesourcetradeshow.co.uk

Gold

?     Cox and Baloney Tearooms & Bar, Bristol, www.coxandbaloneytearooms.com

Silver

?     Home Farm Café, Devon, www.homefarmcafe.co.uk
?     Taste Brasserie, Dorset, www.tastebrasserie.co.uk
?     The Waymarker, Cornwall, www.thewaymarker.co.uk

Bronze

?     Symondsbury Kitchen, Dorset, www.symondsburykitchen.com

Camping & Caravanning Park of the Year

Sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors www.stephens-scown.co.uk

Gold

?     Trethem Mill Touring Park, Cornwall, www.trethem.com

Silver

?     Crealy Meadows Caravan and Camping Park , Devon, www.crealymeadows.co.uk
?     Hendra Holiday Park, Cornwall, www.hendra-holidays.com
?     Wareham Forest Tourist Park, Dorset, www.warehamforest.co.uk

Bronze

?     South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Dorset, www.southlytchettmanor.co.uk
?     Waterrow Touring Park, Somerset, www.waterrowpark.co.uk

Dog Friendly Business of the Year

Sponsored by Clockwork Marketing  www.clockworkhospitality.co.uk

Gold

?     Deer Park Country House Hotel, Devon, www.deerpark.co.uk
?     Kernock Cottages, Cornwall, www.kernockcottages.com

Silver

?     Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire, www.lucknampark.co.uk

Bronze

?     Bed & Basket, Cornwall, www.bedandbasket.co.uk
?     Cary Arms, Devon, www.caryarms.co.uk
?     Karma St Martin's, Isles of Scilly, www.karmastmartins.com

Glamping Business of the Year

Sponsored by Booking.com  www.booking.com

Gold

?     Longlands, Devon, www.longlandsdevon.co.uk

Silver

?     Dimpsey Glamping, Somerset, www.dimpsey.co.uk
?     The Orchard Retreat, Devon, www.theorchardretreat.co.uk

Bronze

?     Crafty Camping, Dorset, www.mallinson.co.uk
?     Yurts Cornwall, Cornwall, www.yurtscornwall.com

Holiday Park & Village of the Year

Sponsored by Hoseasons  www.hoseasons.co.uk

Gold

?     Darwin Beach Cove Ltd, Devon, www.beachcoveretreat.co.uk
?     Hendra Holiday Park, Cornwall, www.hendra-holidays.com

Silver

?     Hele Valley Holiday Park, Devon, www.helevalley.co.uk
?     Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, Cornwall, www.pentewan.co.uk

Bronze

?     Ladram Bay Holiday Park, Devon, www.ladrambay.co.uk

Hotel of the Year

Sponsored by Vickery Holman  www.vickeryholman.com

Gold

?     Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire, www.lucknampark.co.uk
?     The Manor House Hotel & Golf club, Castle Combe, Wiltshire, www.exclusive.co.uk/the-manor-house

Silver

?     Bovey Castle, Devon, www.boveycastle.com
?     Hell Bay Hotel, Isles of Scilly, www.hellbay.co.uk
?     The Bristol, Bristol, www.doylecollection.com/bristol

Bronze

?     Aztec Hotel & Spa, Bristol, www.aztechotelbristol.com
?     Hilton Bournemouth, Dorset, www.bournemouth.hilton.com

International Visitor Experience of the Year

Sponsored by Bristol Airport  www.bristolairport.co.uk

Gold

?     Trebah Garden, Cornwall, www.trebah-garden.co.uk

Silver

?     The Roman Baths & Pump Room, Bath, www.romanbaths.co.uk
?     Unique Devon Tours, Devon, www.uniquedevontours.com

Bronze

?     Mazzard Farm Holiday Cottages, Devon, www.mazzardfarm.com

Large Attraction of the Year

Sponsored by Take One Media  www.takeonemedia.co.uk

Gold

?     The Roman Baths & Pump Room, Bath, www.romanbaths.co.uk

Silver

?     Lanhydrock, National Trust, Cornwall, www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lanhydrock
?     National Trust - Tyntesfield, Bristol, www.nationaltrust.org.uk/tyntesfield
?     South Devon Railway, Devon, www.southdevonrailway.co.uk
?     Stonehenge, English Heritage, Wiltshire, www.english-heritage.org.uk/stonehenge
?     The Milky Way Adventure Park, Devon, www.themilkyway.co.uk

Restaurant/Bistro of the Year

Sponsored by Fourth  www.fourth.com

Gold

?     The Coach House by Michael Caines, Devon, www.kentisburygrange.com

Silver

?     The Coleridge Restaurant, Somerset, www.coleridgerestaurant.co.uk
?     The Dining Room restaurant, Cornwall, www.thediningroomrock.co.uk

Bronze

?     Eastbury Hotel, Dorset, www.theeastburyhotel.co.uk
?     Gidleigh Park, Devon, www.gidleigh.co.uk
?     The Dorset Burger Company, Dorset, www.thedorsetburgercompany.co.uk
?     The Scarlet Restaurant , Cornwall, www.scarlethotel.co.uk

Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism  www.qualityintourism.com

Gold

?     Greenwood Grange, Dorset, www.greenwoodgrange.co.uk
?     Southview Lodges, Devon, www.southviewlodges.co.uk

Silver

?     The Headland Hotel & Spa, Cornwall, www.headlandhotel.co.uk

Bronze

?     Carbis Bay Hotel Cottages, Cornwall, www.carbisbayhotel.co.uk
?     Highbullen Hotel Golf & Country Club, Devon, www.highbullen.co.uk
?     Symondsbury Estate, Dorset, www.symondsburyestate.co.uk

Self Catering Property of the Year

Sponsored by RedwellGB www.redwellgb.co.uk

Gold

?     The Old Barn Tregonetha, Cornwall, www.oldbarncornwall.co.uk

Silver

?     Cosawes Barton, Cornwall, www.cosawesbarton.co.uk
?     Teania, St Martin's, Isles of Scilly, www.teania.com
?     The Granary, Larkbeare Grange, Devon, www.larkbeare.net

Bronze

?     The Cottage Beyond, Somerset, www.thecottagebeyond.co.uk
?     The Milkshed, Devon, www.themilkshed-devon.com

Small Attraction of the Year

Sponsored by Shopper Anonymous www.shopperanonymous.co.uk 

Gold

?     Screech Owl Sanctuary, Cornwall, www.screechowlsanctuary.co.uk

Silver

?     Canonteign Falls, Devon, www.canonteignfalls.co.uk
?     Hestercombe Gardens, Somerset, www.hestercombe.com
?     The National Lobster Hatchery, Cornwall, www.nationallobsterhatchery.co.uk

Bronze

?     Russell-Cotes Art Gallery and Museum, Dorset, www.russellcotes.com
?     The Town Mill, Dorset, www.townmill.org.uk

Small Hotel / Boutique Accommodation of the Year

Sponsored by Buckleigh Linen Services www.buckleigh.co.uk

Gold

?     Glazebrook House Hotel, Devon, www.glazebrookhouse.com
?     Kentisbury Grange, Devon, www.kentisburygrange.com

Silver

?     Lewtrenchard Manor, Devon, www.lewtrenchard.co.uk
?     Trevose Harbour House, Cornwall, www.trevosehouse.co.uk

Bronze

?     Dunkery Beacon Country House, Somerset, www.dunkerybeaconaccommodation.co.uk
?     The Kings Arms, Dorset, www.thekings-christchurch.co.uk

Spa & Wellbeing Experience Award

Sponsored by Brewer and Bunney  www.brewerandbunney.co.uk

Gold

?     Ilsington Country House Hotel & Spa, Devon, www.ilsington.co.uk

Silver

?     Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire, www.lucknampark.co.uk

Bronze

?     C Bay Spa, Cornwall, www.carbisbayhotel.co.uk

Sustainable Tourism Award

Sponsored by Nu-Heat  www.nu-heat.co.uk

Gold

?     National Marine Aquarium, Devon, www.national-aquarium.co.uk

Silver

?     Mill on the Brue Outdoor Activity Centre, Somerset, www.millonthebrue.co.uk

Bronze

?     Hendra Holiday Park, Cornwall, www.hendra-holidays.com
?     Moors Valley Country Park and Forest, Dorset, www.moors-valley.co.uk
?     Wild Futures' Monkey Sanctuary, Cornwall, www.monkeysanctuary.org

Tourism Event & Festival of the Year

Sponsored by Cosmic  www.cosmic.org.uk

Gold

?     Plymouth Armed Forces Day, Devon, www.plymoutharmedforcesday.co.uk
?     Shaun in the City Sculpture Trail, Bristol, www.grandappeal.org.uk

Silver

?     Bridgwater Guy Fawkes Carnival, Somerset, www.bridgwatercarnival.org.uk
?     Tankfest, The Tank Museum, Dorset, www.tankmuseum.org
?     Looe Music Festival, Cornwall, www.looemusic.co.uk

Bronze

?     Ageas Salisbury International Arts Festival, Wiltshire, www.salisburyfestival.co.uk

Tourism Pub of the Year

Sponsored by A Head for PR  www.aheadforpr.co.uk

Gold

?     The Millbrook Inn, Devon, www.millbrookinnsouthpool.co.uk
?     The Rising Sun, Cornwall, www.risingsuntruro.co.uk

Silver

?     The Gurnard's Head, Cornwall, www.gurnardshead.co.uk
?     The White Hart, Somerset, www.whitehartsomerton.com

Bronze

?     The Anchor Inn, Dorset, www.theanchorinnseatown.co.uk
?     The Pandora Inn, Cornwall, www.pandorainn.com

Tourist Information Service of the Year

Sponsored by Tourist Network  www.touristnetwork.co.uk

Gold

?     Gloucester Tourist Information Centre, Gloucestershire, www.thecityofgloucester.co.uk

Silver

?     Bodmin Information Centre, Cornwall, www.bodminlive.com
?     Bude TIC, Cornwall, www.visitbude.info

Bronze

?     Discover Purbeck Information Centre, Dorset, www.visitswanageandpurbeck.co.uk
?     Taunton Visitor Centre, Somerset, www.visitsomerset.co.uk/taunton

Unsung Hero Award

Sponsored by The Met Office  www.metoffice.gov.uk

Gold

?     Brenden Howard at The Grove Hotel, Dorset, www.thegrovebournemouth.co.uk
?     David Croft, Cornwall, www.davidcroft.info

Venue & Business Tourism Award

Sponsored by Plymouth Gin  www.plymouthgin.com

Gold

?     The Bristol, Bristol, www.doylecollection.com/bristol

Silver

?     Event Exeter at the University of Exeter, Devon, www.eventexeter.com
?     Pentillie Castle & Estate, Cornwall, www.pentillie.co.uk

Bronze

?     Carbis Bay Hotel, Spa & Estate, Cornwall, www.carbisbayhotel.co.uk
?     Symondsbury Estate, Dorset, www.symondsburyestate.co.uk
?     The Italian Villa, Dorset, www.the-italian-villa.co.uk

Outstanding Contribution to Tourism

Sponsored by the South West Tourism Alliance  www.swtourismalliance.org.uk 

?     Graham Grose, Owner, Thurlestone Hotel, Devon
?     Harry Murray MBE, Chairman Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire
?     Robin Barker, Services for Tourism Ltd

Winner of Winners

Sponsored by Great Western Railway  www.gwr.com

?     Gloucester Tourist Information Centre, Gloucestershire, www.thecityofgloucester.co.uk